About us

The University of Auckland School of Medicine Foundation (SoMF) is the steward and distributor of funds entrusted to it for specific charitable purposes, usually associated with teaching and research at the Faculty of Medical & Health Sciences of The University of Auckland.

SoMF Trustees are drawn from the alumni of The University of Auckland and the general public. The Trustees are Mr Peter Tong (Chair), Dr Richard Douglas, Mr John Dunn, Mr Darren Manning, Dr Arthur Morris, Professor John Fraser, Dr Janet Rowan and Ms Faye Sumner.

Peter Tong, a solicitor, was formerly partner at Russell McVeagh and Deputy Mayor of Napier City. Richard Douglas is an ear nose and throat physician and surgeon. John Dunn is a general surgeon and director of Endoscopy, Laparoscopy and Bariatrics Auckland. Darren Manning is a broker at Forsyth Barr. Dr Arthur Morris is a clinical microbiologist and a director of Fisher & Paykel Healthcare. John Fraser is Dean of the Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences at the University of Auckland. Janet Rowan is consultant obstetric physician to National Women's Hospital. Faye Sumner is chief executive officer of the Medical Technology Association of New Zealand.

The Trustees meet four times a year to review investment policy and performance, ensure that payments to beneficiaries are made in accordance with the donor's wishes, oversee fundraising activity, and make sure that SoMF complies with its reporting obligations. In particular, SoMF has registered with Charities Services (Number CC 30871) to comply with the Charities Act (2005) and its accounts are audited annually.

Each SoMF endowment gift is invested into, and allocated its share of, The University of Auckland Foundation endowment investment pool which has retained Cambridge Advisors to act as investment advisors. This pool is structured for long-term growth allowing in normal years both annual distributions of some income to the beneficiaries and retention of the remaining income to protect the capital value of the gifts in the endowment pool.

For more information, download the University of Auckland Foundation Statement of Investment Policy and Objectives (SIPO)